Sunday, February 14, 2010

Banquet 2010 - Recognizing 2009's Achievements

Awards are only listed for recipients who attended the banquet. Awards are listed by last name with the Hall of Fame following at the end.

We were celebrating completion of the club's 75th year - 1934 is the generally accepted year of the Shore AC's founding (though there are references to its having been founded a year or two earlier). This cake was dessert following the buffet dinner.

Bob Andrews (second from left) was awarded the coach of year primarily for work with his son, Robby, now running at the University of Virginia. He called up his wife, high school coach, Bill Welsh (camel jacket), and George Kochman, who'd been an influence on his coaching.

Tom Cawley was named Comeback Athlete of the Year.

Diane Cismowski received a Get Up and Go Award. Diane is pictured with club president Walter MacGowan.

Christine Clifton won both the Elliott Denman Award and President's Award, the first time anyone's won both the same year.

Farnese DaSilva was awarded the George Sheehan Memorial Award as Men's Distance Runner of the Year.

Jill Evarts won the Mary Conry Memorial Award as Women's Distance Runner of the year.

Paul G. Gaffney II, President of Monmouth University and a graduate of the US Naval Academy, was awarded the Wisner Brothers Award for Distinguished Service to the Sport of Track and Field.

The Hill Family was awarded the Tom and Phyllis Fyfe Award as Family of the Year. Dick Hill accepted on behalf of his family, which across 3 generations numbers 15 or 16 runners.

Patty and David Hitman were awarded a Get Up and Go Award.

Larry Kalb was recipient of the first Ken Williamson Memorial Award for Dedication to Officiating.

Neni Lewis received the Irwin Bernstein Award for Masters Track and Field Athlete of the Year. Her exceptional throwing keeps her in the top ranks nationally. She's pictured here with her coach Goran Milanovich?.

Art Noland received the Chris Malone Memorial Award as Men's Masters Runner of the Year.

Preznack Nowicki was, at age 65, awarded Rookie of the Year on the men's side.

Brian O'Dowd earned Boys' High School Athlete of the Year.

Ben Ottmer earned the Don Johnson Memorial Award as Masters Racewalker of the Year.

Erin Taylor was awarded the Don and Marie Henry Memorial Award as Women's Racewalker of the Year. Dave Talcott was named recipient of the William Funkhouser Memorial Award as Men's Racewalker of the Year. Dave and Erin recently became engaged.

Kerri Walker, who coaches at Rumson-Fair Haven High School, was Womens' Rookie of the Year.

Glenn Weaver, an excellent javelin thrower and Jersey City fireman, was recognized as Humanitarian of the Year. As is typical of Glenn, he said a few words about those who serve who don't come home, including firefighters, police and armed service members. Mr. Weaver was among the first responders on September 11.

A'Jee Wilson was selected as Girls' High School Athlete of the Year.

Elliott and Jo Denman were honored with cake cutting duties. Elliott's been one of the club's guiding hands since its reestablishment in the early 1960's. Jo's been supportive of Elliott's efforts through the years.


Marc Anderson, now sprints coach at Princeton University, was inducted into Shore AC's Hall of Fame for his achievements. He told a story about being trapped in the Hotel New Yorker lobby prior to a relay at the Millrose Games, and 3 of the four athletes had gotten there, but as time closed in, the athletes wanted to change, there was no sign of the fourth, and they didn't dare leave in these pre-cell phone days. If you want the rest, you'll have to ask the coach for the rest of the story.

Curt Clausen, America's leading racewalker of the late 1990's and early 2000's was also inducted to the Hall of Fame. Mr. Clausen represented the USA at three Olympics and won a bronze medal at the World Championships in 1999.

Ralph Garfield, a long-time club member who ran in the inaugural New York City Marathon brought along a clipping from the Daily News and his trophy from that race. Close examination will reveal that's Ralph pictured at the bottom left of the clipping.

Milton Goode, who high jumped for Monmouth Regional High School and went on to jump at the 1984 Olympics was also inducted.

Dudley Dorival was also inducted. His coaching duties kept him from attending.

Special thanks go to the Mendina children whose expert help enabled Christine Clifton to run the silent auction efficiently.