Sunday, December 31, 2006

Polar Bear News

Pedro Espinosa of Freehold unleashed a powerful sprint finish in the final 100 meters to outduel Dickson Mercer of Fair Haven, 26:21 to 26:24, and win the men's five-mile run in the 43rd annual Asbury Park Polar Races on the boardwalk yesterday.

Rachel Provost of Millstone, state prep school cross country champion for Peddie School, retained her women's Polar Bear five-mile crown, clocking 30:34 to beat out Dianne DiOliveira of Point Pleasant (32:10) and Lauren Rhatigan of Ship Bottom (33.04)

The Polar Bear Races, first held in 1964, were again staged by Shore Athletic Club and sponsored by Oxford Health Plans.

Top honors in the co-featured Polar Bear 10-mile race walk went to John Soucheck of Little Silver (1:21.44) and Lisa Marie Vellucci of Staten Island (1:33.50.) Richard Stockton College senior Rich Luettchau walked the course in 1:18:33 but was 5:43 late for the start and placed second. A total of 295 athletes, aged 11 to 86, coming from seven states, took part.

Pedro Espinosa breaks the tape at the 2006 version of the Polar Bear Races.

Rachel Provost was the women's winner.

John Soucheck displays the form that won the racewalk at the 2006 Polar Bear Racewalk.

Lisa Marie Vellucci of Staten Island powers along the Asbury Park Boardwalk on her way to victory at the 2006 Polar Bear Racewalk.

Rich Luettchau's late arrival prevented him from winning the Polar Bear Racewalk.

Before the race start, Santa Claus played "The Star-Spangled Banner".

A News 12 New Jersey crew interviews Larry the Lighthouse and Wendy the Windmill at the Polar Bear Races.

Larry has trouble negotiating the doorways at Convention Hall. Maybe next year, we'll have to invite "Little Larry."

After the races, one of the largest groups of swimmers in the history of the races braved the ocean's chill.

Saturday, December 16, 2006

Polar Bear Races

The Polar Bear Races are coming. This year, they are happening on SATURDAY, December 30th. The 10-mile racewalk begins at 10:00 AM, and the 5-mile run is at 1:00 PM. Enter early and save $$$. Race application here. Check-in is at Convention Hall. We hope to see you there.